Portada Terra USA > Deportes > Gold Cup >

GOLD CUP 2007 

23/6/2007 - 22:38(EST)


CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football) has unveiled today, in Chicago, the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ All-Tournament Team.

23/JUN/2007- The All-Tournament Team was selected by the CONCACAF Technical Study Group and features the “Best XI” along with seven Honourable Mentions. The player selections were made from the eight teams that reached the quarterfinals of the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™.

Historia continua abajo

Franck Grandel of Guadeloupe was selected as the goalkeeper in the tournament’s Best XI, while the four-man backline includes Felipe Baloy of Panama, Richard Hastings of Canada, Frankie Hejduk of USA and Carlos Salcido of Mexico.

The Best XI’s midfield is composed of Walter Centeno (CRC), Julian DeGuzman (CAN), Pablo Mastroeni (USA), Pavel Pardo (MEX), while the forwards are Carlos Pavón (HON) and Blas Perez (PAN).

The All-Tournament Team ends with seven players receiving honourable mentions: goalkeeper – Jose Francisco Porras (CRC); defenders – Jorge Samual Caballeros (HON), Paul Stalteri (CAN); midfielders – DaMarcus Beasley (USA), Jose Andres Guardado (MEX); forwards – Jocelyn Angloma (GLP), Landon Donovan (USA).

The 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ Final will take place on Sunday (24 June) when Mexico takes on the USA at Chicago’s Soldier Field at 2 pm CT.

For up-to-date stories, team information, final group standings, results and/or to follow the 2007 final game live via the tournament’s official matchtracker check goldcup.org.

2007 CONCACAF GOLD CUP™ All-Tournament Team Best XI GK: Franck GRANDEL (GLP); DF: Felipe BALOY (PAN), Richard HASTINGS (CAN), Frankie HEJDUK (USA), Carlos SALCIDO (MEX); MD: Walter CENTENO (CRC), Julian DEGUZMAN (CAN), Pablo MASTROENI (USA), Pavel PARDO (MEX); AT: Carlos PAVON (HON), Blas PEREZ (PAN).

Honourable Mentions GK: Jose Francisco PORRAS (CRC); DF: Jorge Samuel CABALLEROS (HON), Paul STALTERI (CAN); MD: DaMarcus BEASLEY (USA), Jose Andres GUARDADO (MEX); AT: Jocelyn ANGLOMA (GLP), Landon DONOVAN (USA).

GOLD CUP HISTORY YEAR CHAMPION RUNNER-UP VENUES 1991 USA Honduras Los Angeles, Pasadena (USA) 1993 Mexico USA Dallas (USA); Ciudad de México (México) 1996 Mexico Brazil Anaheim, San Diego, Los Angeles (USA) 1998 Mexico USA Oakland, Miami, Los Angeles (USA) 2000 Canada Colombia San Diego, Miami, Los Angeles (USA) 2002 USA Costa Rica Pasadena, Miami (USA) 2003 Mexico Brazil Foxboro, Miami (USA); Ciudad de México (México) 2005 USA Panama Carson, Foxboro, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, NY/NJ, Seattle (USA).

About CONCACAF CONCACAF “The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football” is one of six continental confederations of FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) and serves as the governing body of football in this part of the world. It is composed of 40 national associations, from Canada in the north to Surinam in the south.

About the CONCACAF Gold Cup™ The CONCACAF Gold Cup™ is CONCACAF’s showpiece event for men’s national teams as it crowns the regional champion. The USA won the inaugural competition in 1991, defeating Honduras before 40,000 fans at the L.A. Memorial Coliseum in California. Mexico then won three consecutive titles, the third in 1998 before a crowd of 91,000 in Los Angeles, before Canada won its first major international honor in more than 100 years of football history in 2000. After the USA claimed the 2002 title, Mexico returned to the top of the Confederation with their fourth crown in 2003. The 2005 edition of the CONCACAF Gold Cup™ was won by the USA.

About SUM Founded in 2002 and headquartered in New York City, Soccer United Marketing (SUM) is the largest promoter of international soccer matches in North America. SUM entered into a partnership in Fall 2004 with CONCACAF to design and execute operations, marketing and promotional plans for the 2005 & 2007 editions of the CONCACAF Gold Cup™.